Set Text Size:

S

S

S

AILA Teams Up with Partners to Help Thousands Become U.S. Citizens

Cite as "AILA InfoNet Doc. No. 13041843 (posted Apr. 18, 2013)"

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Thursday, April 18, 2013

CONTACTS:
George Tzamaras or Belle Woods
202-507-7649 - 202-507-7675
gtzamaras@aila.org - bwoods@aila.org

Washington, DC - The American Immigration Lawyers Association (AILA) is proud to sponsor the 7th annual Citizenship Day on Saturday, April 20, 2013. Each year, at sites across the country, AILA attorneys and other stakeholders provide assistance to lawful permanent residents eligible for naturalization. This year, AILA again in partnership with "ya es hora ¡Ciudadanía!" will hold 40 naturalization clinics in 23 states and the District of Columbia serving thousands of immigrants who aspire to become citizens.

"Citizenship Day is a highlight among the many events AILA participates in each year. This is a day when we help qualified immigrants prepare the final papers that will lead to their becoming American citizens," said AILA President Laura Lichter.

AILA Citizenship Day is an award-winning, one-day, multi-site event where attorneys provide free or low-cost assistance to eligible legal permanent residents who wish to apply for U.S. citizenship. The event is made possible through the strong partnerships between AILA chapters across the country and the grassroots campaign "ya es hora ¡Ciudadanía!" In 2013, AILA Citizenship Day will celebrate its 7th anniversary as a nationwide event and its 5th year working with the campaign. Last year, at events in 16 states, over 2,000 immigrants were served.

Key factors in the success of Citizenship Day are the relationships between AILA, community organizations and stakeholders, as well as the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) Office of Citizenship and the Department of Justice's Office of Special Counsel for Immigration-Related Unfair Employment Practices.

"Individual attorneys help immigrants each and every day but by joining together for Citizenship Day, our abilities are magnified. Applying for citizenship can be a complicated process and it is heartwarming to see the optimism and hope these immigrants have for their future as they reach for the American Dream," said Susan Timmons, Associate Director of AILA's Practice and Professionalism Center.

Citizenship Clinics will be held in Arizona, California, Colorado, Georgia, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Michigan, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, and Washington, D.C. A list of clinic coordinators and their email addresses is available after this release.

###

The American Immigration Lawyers Association is the national association of immigration lawyers established to promote justice, advocate for fair and reasonable immigration law and policy, advance the quality of immigration and nationality law and practice, and enhance the professional development of its members.

Arizona
Marisol Angulo
ma@hernandezglobal.com

Central Florida
Kara Roberts - Jacksonville
kara.roberts@jaxlegalaid.org

Camila Pachon - Orlando
cpachon@legalaidocba.org

Dina Castillo-Ward - Orlando
dina.castward@gmail.com

John Dubrule - Tampa
johnd@gulfcoastlegal.org

Chicago
Cathy Higgins-Mora
chiggins@hsplegal.com

Edyta Salata
edyta@salatalaw.net

Maria Frenn Kallmeyer
maria.kallmeyer@quarles.com

Colorado
Aaron Clarke Hall
aaron@immigrationissues.com

Georgia
Anne Koch - Decatur
anne@kochimmigration.com

Hawaii
John Robert Egan
jegan@migrationcounsel.com

Indiana
Christie Popp
popplawoffice@gmail.com

Michigan
David Koelsch
koelscdc@udmercy.edu

Mid-South: Tennessee, Kentucky and Louisana
Bob Lenard
rrlenard@aol.com

New England: Massachusetts and Vermont
Sidney Collier
scollier@collierimmigration.com

Emily Leung
eleung@law.harvard.edu

Livia Lungulescu
livia@romanovskylaw.com

New York
Rachel Baskin
baskinesq@gmail.com

Alfredo Murga
alfredo.murga@hua-murga.com
Northern California
Erin Quinn
equinn@ilrc.org

David Palmer
david@jewellfirm.com

Ohio
Stacy Cozart - Cleveland
cozart@visaskk.com

Matt Nierman - Columbus
mnierman@shihablawyers.com

Jorge Martinez - Cincinnati
jorge@jortinez.com

Philadelphia
Judi Bernstein-Baker
jbernsteinbaker@hiaspa.org

Valentine Brown
vbrown@duanemorris.com

San Diego
Susan Worm
sworm@immigrationlawclinic.com

Monica Rottermann
rott.esq@gmail.com

South Florida
Sui Chung
schung@lawgroupusa.com

Southern California
Yeu Hong
yhong@immgroup.com

Rajesh Prasad
rajesh@parikhlawoffices.com

Texas and Oklahoma
Frances Valdez
fvaldezlaw@gmail.com

Utah
Margaret Pascual
mwpascual@sbcglobal.net

Washington, DC, Maryland, and Virginia
Jonelle Ocloo
Jonelle.ocloo@gmail.com

Washington State
Megan Vogel
meganvogel@dwt.com

Karin Tolgu
karintolgu@msn.com

Kati Ortiz
kati@rioscruz.com
 
Copyright © 1993–2014, American Immigration Lawyers Association.
Suite 300, 1331 G Street, NW, Washington, DC 20005
Copyright & Reprint Policy
Contact Us