

September 9, 2008

Dear Senator:

Congress has an opportunity before it adjourns to help advance U.S. innovation leadership by enacting a modest reform in our nation's permanent resident ("green card") program that would simply "recapture" green cards that Congress previously authorized in prior fiscal years, but went unused due to government processing delays. Senators Robert Menendez, Patty Murray and others have included a "recapture" proposal as part of S. 3414, and we urge you to support enactment of this proposal without delay this year.

EB green cards allow U.S. employers to retain highly educated professionals – including scientists, researchers, teachers and medical professionals – who are already legally living and working in America. Yet, despite the clear link between green cards and U.S. competitiveness, the EB green card system has effectively gone unchanged for 18 years, which has resulted in well-documented backlogs spanning anywhere from two to upwards of 10 years. These waits create a disincentive for the world's best and brightest to pursue careers at U.S. companies and universities, therefore threatening the foundations of American innovation.

Recapturing Congressionally authorized EB green cards from prior fiscal years that went unused due to bureaucratic delays would help reduce visa backlogs. EB green card recapture has been endorsed by over 70 employer, family and community-based organizations. In 2005, 85 U.S. Senators voted in support of green card recapture.

Failure to enact a recapture provision will further hamper U.S. employers in the global competition for the world's best talent, as more and more extremely valuable professionals from around the world take their education and abilities to other nations that strategically pursue policies to attract these individuals. The U.S. system sends the opposite message: Permanent resident status is extremely difficult to obtain, and even visas already authorized by law are not available.

America's future is at stake. Congress should quickly pass this modest measure that keeps highly talented individuals working to benefit the American economy. We urge your support for a recapture provision this year.

Sincerely,

Gilbert F. Amelio, Ph.D. Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Jazz Semiconductor Steven A. Ballmer Chief Executive Officer Microsoft Corporation Craig Barrett Chairman Intel Corporation John J. Castellani President Business Roundtable

Jan Becker SVP of Human Resources and Corporate Real Estate Autodesk, Inc. Safra Catz President Oracle

Robert M. Berdahl President Association of American Universities Roger F. Cocivera President & CEO Textile Rental Services Association of America

Rich Beyer Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer Freescale Semiconductor George Conrades Executive Chairman Akamai Technologies

Jim Bidzos Chairman & CEO VeriSign Jill E. Cook Vice President, Human Resources Cummins Inc.

Edward J. Black President and CEO Computer & Communications Industry Association John P. Daane President, CEO and Chairman of the Board Altera Corporation

Laszlo Bock Vice President, People Operations Google, Inc. Rhett Dawson President and CEO Information Technology Industry Council

Phillip J. Bond President & CEO Information Technology Association of America Aart de Geus Chairman and CEO Synopsys

Dan Burton Senior Vice President, Global Public Policy Salesforce.com Hector de J. Ruiz, Ph.D. Executive Chairman Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Paul Deninger Vice Chairman Jefferies & Co. China Miner Gorman Acting President and Chief Executive

Officer

Phil Greenough

Society for Human Resource Management

Mark Denzler

Vice President, Government Affairs &

Membership CEO/Founder

Illinois Manufacturers' Association Greenough Communications

Brian Halla

Jesse Devitte Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive

Managing Director & Co-founder Officer

Borealis Ventures National Semiconductor

Thomas J. Donohue Glenn Hamer President & CEO President/CEO

U.S. Chamber of Commerce & Industry

Brett Dungan Christopher W. Hansen President & CEO President & CEO

Master Marine, Inc. AeA (American Electronics Association)

John Engler Tim Healy

President and CEO Chairman & CEO
National Association of Manufacturers EnerNOC

Patrick Ennis Bill Hewitt
Global Head of Technology President & CEO

Intellectual Ventures Kalido

Phil Ferneau Robert W. Holleyman, II Managing Director & Co-founder President and CEO

Borealis Ventures Business Software Alliance

Ralph Folz Keith Jackson

Global Chief Operating Officer President, CEO and Director Isobar ON Semiconductor Corporation

Michael Gallagher Kellie Johnson
President and CEO President

Entertainment Software Association ACE Clearwater Enterprises

Marlene M. Johnson

Executive Director and CEO

NAFSA: Association of International

Educators

Brian P. McGuire

Executive Vice President

Tooling and Manufacturing Association

Bill Kessenich

President

Unlimited Services of WI, Inc.

Smith McKeithen

Executive VP, Corporate Affairs

Cadence Design Systems

Howard Kogan

President

Molecular

Peter McPherson

President

NASULGC: A Public University

Association

Charles H. Kuck

President

American Immigration Lawyers Association

Lowell Miles

CEO

Miles Fiberglass & Composites Inc.

Charles D. Lein

President and COO

Stuller, Inc.

Albert R. Miller

President

Phoenix Closures, Inc.

John N. Little

CEO

The MathWorks

Chuck Moran President & CEO

SkillSoft

Tod Loofbourrow

President & CEO

Authoria

Larry Myers

Senior Vice President, Human Resources

T-Mobile

Lisa M. Mascolo

US Country Managing Director

Accenture

Bob Nelson

Managing Director

Arch Venture Partners

John McAdam

President & CEO

F5 Networks Inc.

Kim Polese

CEO

SpikeSource, Inc.

Harold McGraw III

Chairman, President and CEO

The McGraw-Hill Companies

Jeff Ray

CEO

Dassault Systèmes SolidWorks Corporation

David A. Raymond President and CEO American Council of Engineering Companies Keith L. Smith CEO Zango, Inc.

James E. Reilly President F.N. Sheppard & Co Charles Stamp, Jr. Vice President, Public Affairs World Wide Deere & Company

William A. Reinsch President National Foreign Trade Council

Larry Sumney
President and CEO
Semiconductor Research Corporation

Ed Roberts Vice President Indiana Manufacturers Association Abhi Talwalkar President and Chief Executive Officer LSI Corporation

Willem Roelandts Chairman of the Board Xilinx, Inc. Richard K. Templeton Chairman, President, and CEO Texas Instruments

Paul Sagan President & CEO Akamai Technologies John Tickle President Strongwell Corporation

George M. Scalise President Semiconductor Industry Association Rex W. Tillerson Chairman & CEO Exxon Mobil Corporation

Brian Schipper Senior Vice President, Human Resources Cisco Systems, Inc. Jim Voelker CEO Infospace, Inc.

Lynn Shotwell Executive Director American Council on International Personnel Kevin Walker CEO Simple Tuition Dan Warmenhoven Chairman and Chief Executive Officer NetApp

Ken Wasch President Software & Information Industry Association

Lezlee Westine President & CEO TechNet

Sandra Westlund-Deenihan President Quality Float Works, Inc.

Warren Young President Acme Industries, Inc.

Chris Zannetos CEO Courion