

MEMORANDUM FOR: Directors, Field Operations

Office of Field Operations

(b) (6), (b) (7)(C)

FROM:

Todd A. Hoffman

Executive Director

Admissibility and Passenger Programs

SUBJECT:

Visa Waiver Program (VWP) e-Passport Requirement

The Visa Waiver Program Improvement and Terrorist Travel Prevention Act of 2015 was signed into law on December 18, 2015. The new law requires all VWP travelers to have an electronic passport (e-passport) by April 1, 2016. Passengers are ineligible to travel under VWP without an e-passport on or after April 1, 2016.

Effective immediately, travelers who arrive at the POE without an e-passports are ineligible for admission under the VWP. (b) (7)(E)

(b) (7)(E)

An e-Passport, denoted by the symbol e, is an enhanced secure passport with (b) (7)(E)

(b) (7)(E)

E-Passports are issued by the proper passport issuing authority and must meet international standards for securing and storing information corresponding to the passport and bearer.

(b) (7)(E)

(b) (7)(E)

Travelers arriving at CBP POEs presenting non-electronic passports for admission cannot be admitted under the VWP. (b) (7)(E)

LAW ENFORCEMENT SENSITIVE-FOR OFFICIAL USE ONLY

(b) (7)(E) (b) (7)(E)

If an individual is ineligible for entry under the VWP due to The Act, and no discretion is appropriate, (b) (7)(E)

Please ensure that this memorandum and muster is disseminated to all ports of entry within your jurisdiction. Should you have any questions or require additional information, please contact (b) (6), (b) (7)(C), Director, Electronic System for Travel Authorization at (b) (6), (b) (7)(C).